American Energy Society Selects Meghan O’Sullivan as “Energy Writer of the Year” for 2017

By , in PR PR California on .

SAN FRANCISCO–American Energy Society is pleased to announce that it has selected Meghan O’Sullivan as the “Energy Writer of the Year.” Dr. O’Sullivan has been a prolific contributor to this space for many years. But the Society took special note of two contributions in 2017: the release of her new book, Windfall: How the New Energy Abundance Upends Global Politics and Strengthens America’s Power, and then her New York Times article, “How Trump Can Harness the U.S. Energy Boom.” Windfall is an ambitious book that provides an honest survey of the forces that are rapidly turning the world of energy upside down: Arab oil-producing nations losing their hold, the US re-emerging as an undisputed dominant power, turmoil in Russia, the need for consensus and coexistence with renewable energy and climate interests… Dr. O’Sullivan’s work has been deemed “the boldest profile of the energy sector since Daniel Yergin won the Pulitzer for The Prize.”

According to Eric Vettel, President of American Energy Society, “The topic of energy in 2017 captured the attention of many talented writers – the AES editorial board had to consider a number of worthy candidates for this prestigious award. But what sets Dr. O’Sullivan’s work apart and makes her the clear choice for ‘Energy Writer of the Year, 2017’ is the breadth and depth of her treatment of a complex issue. Readers of Windfall will engage with history and economics, confront the tangle of geopolitics, and explore controversial policy decisions. Dr. O’Sullivan’s writing is engaging, fast-paced, and covers every conceivable aspect of the oil and gas sector with penetrating insights. In 2017, Dr. O’Sullivan made the most significant contribution to the field, and in the process improved the energy literacy of the general public. For these reasons, Dr. O’Sullivan is this year’s Energy Writer of the Year.”

About Meghan O’Sullivan: Meghan O’Sullivan is the Jeane Kirkpatrick Professor of the Practice of International Affairs, Professor at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government, and Director of the Geopolitics Energy Project.

About previous winners: In 2016, the American Energy Society named Mark Mills the “Energy Writer of the Year,” senior fellow at the Manhattan Institute and faculty fellow at Northwestern’s McCormick School; and in 2015, Coral Davenport, energy and environment correspondent at The New York Times and a fellow with the Metcalf Institute for Marine and Environmental Reporting.

About American Energy Society: American Energy Society (AES) is a non-partisan, independent network of nearly 500,000 professionals from every energy sector. Through a variety of services and programs, the AES supports its Members with recognized publications like Energy Today and Energy Matters, newsfeeds on “energy news you need to know right now,” updates on groundbreaking discoveries, and notifications about upcoming conferences, funding and awards, job openings, and more. To learn more about AES, visit Or, credentialed media can contact AES for more information about this award, its winner(s), or a review copy of Windfall.

The following two tabs change content below.
Sarah Thompson

Sarah Thompson

Sarah is a financial reporter, focusing on technology, national security, and policing. Before joining Daily Telescope she worked as a staff writer at Fast Company and spent two years as a foreign correspondent in Turkey. Her work has been published in Al Jazeera America, The Nation, Vice News, Motherboard, and many other outlets.
%d bloggers like this: