Jim Kelly receives 2018 Vince Lombardi Award of Excellence days after announcing cancer has returned

By , in PR PR Sports on .

MILWAUKEE, March 4, 2018 — The Vince Lombardi Cancer Foundation awarded Jim Kelly the 28th Annual Vince Lombardi Award of Excellence. Kelly, an NFL Hall of Fame Inductee and two-time cancer survivor, recently announced that his cancer has returned.

The Vince Lombardi Award of Excellence recognizes Kelly for his continued strength and excellence both on and off the field.

Kelly was selected in the first round of the 1983 NFL draft. He played for the Buffalo Bills all of his eleven seasons in the NFL and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2002. His jersey is one of two numbers retired by the Bills.

In June 2013, Kelly was first diagnosed with squamous cell carcinoma in his upper jaw. He underwent successful surgery. After a follow- up appointment in March 2014, he announced that his cancer had recurred and began radiation and chemotherapy treatment. In August of that year, doctors indicated that they no longer could find evidence of cancer. However, just days ago Kelly announced that the cancer has once again returned, but he remains 'Kelly Tough' as he continues on this difficult journey.

Former and current NFL players Frank Reich, Lynn Dickey, Brett Farve, Dan Marino, JJ Watt, Carson Wentz, Mason Crosby, Chris Berman, Joe Montana, Morten Andersen and James Lofton showed their support through a video that was shown at the event.

The Vince Lombardi Award of Excellence Dinner Ball was created to recognize individuals who capture the spirit of commitment and pursuit of excellence; standards which define the legendary coach Vince Lombardi and the Vince Lombardi Cancer Foundation. Past recipients include:

2017-Barry Alvarez         

2008- Willie Davis 

1997- Bart Starr   

2016- Bud Selig               

2007- Mario Andretti 

1996- General H.

2015- Bob Uecker             

2006- Mia Hamm

Norman Schwarzkopf

2014- Robin Yount             

2005- Cal Ripken, Jr. 

1995- Dan Jansen

2013- Andy North            

2004- Mark Johnson

1994- Jane and Lloyd

2012- David Robinson    

2003- Peggy Fleming


2011- Green Bay 

2002- Hank Aaron

1993- President George

Packers Super Bowl 

2001- Jack Nicklaus

H. W. Bush

Championship Team   

2000- John Wooden

1992- Bob Hope

2010- Mike Ditka    

1999- Don Shula

1991- Pete Rozelle

2009- Roger Staubach      

1998- Eddie Robinson

Contact: Chellee Siewert, Capture Sports Marketing
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 262-442-5188

Cision View original content:http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/jim-kelly-receives-2018-vince-lombardi-award-of-excellence-days-after-announcing-cancer-has-returned-300607783.html

SOURCE The Vince Lombardi Cancer Foundation

The following two tabs change content below.
Bob Allen

Bob Allen

Bob Allen is The Daily Telescope''s senior editor. He is also a nationally syndicated newspaper columnist and a bestselling author. He lives in Los Angeles and covers the intersection of money, politics and finance. He appears periodically on national television shows and has been published in (among others) The National Post, Politico, The Atlantic, Harper’s, Wired.com, Vice and Salon.com. He also has served as a journalist and consultant on documentaries for NPR and ShowTime. In 2014, he was the winner of the Society of American Business Editors and Writers' investigative journalism award, and the winner of the Izzy Award for Journalism from Ithaca College's Park Center for Independent Media. He was also a finalist for UCLA's Gerald R. Loeb Award and Syracuse University's Mirror Award. Before becoming a journalist in 2006, Sirota worked in Washington for, among others, U.S. Rep. Bernie Sanders, the U.S. House Appropriations Committee Minority Staff and the Center for American Progress.
%d bloggers like this: